Sundram names strong squad for defence of Sultan of Selangor’s Cup

SINGAPORE, 30 June 2008: S.League Selection Coach V Sundram Moorthy has named a strong and experienced squad for the defence of the Sultan of Selangor’s Cup in Shah Alam, Malaysia on Sunday 6 July.

The squad of 20 contains 14 current and former Singapore internationals including 10 who featured in our Lions’ recent squads in the World Cup Qualifiers.

The S.League Selection will be going for the three-peat after claiming the cup on the last two occasions. The team first claimed the trophy with a 3-0 win in 2006 on the last occasion the annual event was held in Singapore and followed up with a convincing 3-1 win in Shah Alam last year.

National players such as Lionel Lewis, Aleksandar Duric, John Wilkinson, Fahrudin Mustafic, Shi Jia Yi, Shahril Ishak and Khairul Amri have been called up alongside veterans Rafi Ali (77 senior caps) and Noor Ali (44 senior caps).

Gombak United’s top scorer Gabriel Obatola (14 goals), tireless left winger Kaze Teffo Giscard of Balestier Khalsa and defensive rock Park Mun Ki of S.League title challengers Super Reds are the three foreign players in the 20- man squad.

The squad also includes promising youngsters such as 19-year-old Gombak keeper Razif Yahya as well as 20-year-old Tampines midfielder Shahdan Sulaiman who was a member of the 2007 SEA Games bronze-medal winning squad.

The match will be preceded by the curtain-raiser between the veteran sides of Singapore and Selangor. Singapore fans can look forward to the likes of Sundram, Dollah Kassim, Robert Sim, Lee Bee Seng, Au Yeong Pak Kuan, Malek Awab, Salim Moin, Terry Pathmanathan, Yahya Madon and Syed Faruk donning the Lions’ jersey once again against their long-time rivals in red and yellow.

The champions and the runner-up for the main match will be rewarded RM50,000 and RM10,000 respectively.

S.League Selection Squad

Lionel Lewis (Home United)
Razif Yahya (Gombak United)

Precious Emuejeraye (Gombak United)
Kaze Teffo Giscard (Balestier Khalsa)
Ali Imran Lomri (Sengkang Ponggol)
Park Mun Ki (Super Reds)
Noh Rahman (Geylang United)
Jufri Taha (Balestier Khalsa)

Noor Ali (Geylang United)
Rafi Ali (Tampines Rovers)
Isa Halim (Young Lions)
Shahril Ishak (Home United)
Shi Jiayi (Home United)
Fahrudin Mustafic (Tampines Rovers)
Shahdan Sulaiman (Tampines Rovers)
John Wilkinson (SAFFC)

Khairul Amri (Young Lions)
Aleksandar Duric (SAFFC)
Gabriel Obatola (Gombak United)
Aliff Shafaein (Tampines Rovers)


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
  • Support Singapore YOG 2010

    • 42,837 hits