Double happiness at Singapore Sports Awards 2008

SINGAPORE, 24 June 2008: It was double happiness for Singapore football at the Singapore Sports Awards 2008 ceremony held at the Marina Mandarin this evening.

National Coach Radojko Avramovic was named as the Coach of the Year with our Lions bagging the Team of the Year (Team Sport) accolade.

Raddy’s win came following his nomination for the same award in 2005 after leading the team to his first Asean Football Championship triumph earlier that year. He becomes only the third football coach to receive this award since its inception in 1970. Former national coaches Jita Singh (1981) and the late Choo Seng Quee (1978) were the previous winners.

2007 was indeed a stellar year for Singapore football, in particular our Lions. They kicked off the year in the best fashion by retaining the Asean Football Championship title. They then reached the third round of the World Cup Qualifiers before the U-23 team clinched the bronze – our first football medal for 12 years – at the SEA Games in Korat.

The Team of the Year award is their second in three years, following their win in 2005. The Lions formerly won the award in 1981 too.

Congratulations to Raddy and our Lions!


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


    June 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
  • Support Singapore YOG 2010

    • 42,837 hits